Karinsmiles


Seven Hills
July 21, 2009, 10:47 pm
Filed under: running

I’ve been so busy running that I’m about a month behind in recording all my big runs. The Seven Hills race was on 21st June 2009. This one is my favourite race on the calendar, because I’m happy just to run it and it’s the one event Bill runs with me even though he’s faster than me. We do try to go for a reasonable time but we’ve managed to get lost at some point every year – it’s all part of the fun!

7hillslogo

1. Castle Hill – there were lots of challengers this year so there was a queue to clip our numbers. We took the shortest route down the grass – unfortunately that was the one sliding down the long wet grass and nettles, largely on our backsides – it’s all part of the fun!

2. Corstorphine Hill – we’d recce’d this one twice just before the race so no getting lost here this time. We ran a pretty good even pace all the way up the hill, passing lots of challengers, who promptly passed us again as the path flattened out. 2 down, 5 to go.

3. Craiglockhart Hill – we followed a race veteran who cut across every corner however small, even running across the roundabout at Stenhouse Cross. Surely these tiny shortcuts wouldn’t make an difference in the grand scheme of things? Had to stifle the homing instinct and not take the scenic detour via the Water of Leith Walkway at Gorgie Road. Broke fingernails, scratched legs and wrenched shoulders pulling ourselves up the muddy slope behind the sports’ centre – but it’s all part of the fun.

4. Braid Hill – managed to find the shortcut through to Braidburn Valley park and then followed some racers up the slope on the other side, through the jaggy bushes and the gap in the fence. I’m sure the trig point on Braid Hill was lower down last time. Dodging balls on the golf course is always fun and we made it down through the whins uncharacteristically unscathed.

5. Blackford Hill – we usually take the wimps’ route (turning right after the Lang Linn path) but I had checked out the path to the left this year and it is considerably shorter, albeit with another muddy scramble up the banking. There are steps up to Blackford Hill and, as I may have mentioned in a previous post, I don’t do steps – but it’s all part of the fun. I stopped to chat to a friend at the top and Bill had to remind me it was actually a RACE.

6. Arthur’s Seat – all the other hills are nothing compared to this slog up the hill (steps again!) but there are a couple rocky scrambles to add interest (all part of the fun). The worst bit of the race for me is coming down here – I pick my way down extra cautiously, holding on to tufts of grass for dear life, while runners fly past me on all sides, their feet barely touching the rock.

Calton Hill by estorde

Calton Hill by estorde


7. Calton Hill – as we crossed Abbeymount into Regent Road Gardens, I looked at my watch and realised we might finish inside 3 hours but I could only power walk up the slope to save something for the last gasp. Strangely enough, having passed him before Corstorphine, and again before Craiglockhart …before Braid …before Blackford and before Arthur’s Seat, just below Calton Hill we again passed the guy who uses every conceivable shortcut, no matter how small. I guess they all add up. We did one last push up to the line to finish in 2 hours 59 minutes 55 seconds – our best time yet.

The food at the 7 Hills is the best race food ever, the coasters are the best memento ever and most people hung around for the most informal prize giving ever (‘Did anyone over 60 finish in 2 hours 30…..2 hours 35…. 2 hours 40….OK, the prize is yours’). We both also got a Grouse miniature for having finished Edinburgh marathon as well (‘a double for the double’). Still my favourite race of all time.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.